Farewell Justin Tennison, Serendipity Courtesy of Tennyson

Dear world,

I had a weird dream last night I won’t get into…only this.

I saw on Facebook that someone I considered a friend and confident had passed away last night. He was a crab fisherman in the Bering Sea. He fished on the  F/V Time Bandit and was great at everything in my book!

This was right before my son cued up a show we’ve been watching again on DVD, Babylon 5. Sure, many of you know I’m a not-so-closeted-sci-fy junkie so don’t get scared. I also don’t believe in coincidences.

This is Season 4, Episode 5. The Long Night. The Captain prepares for battle and what may be his last log entry:

“Captain’s Personal Log. Final entry. …When I took command of Babylon 5 I found a note on my desk. Someone had left it there for me. It was a poem by Tennyson. I still remember the last part of it.

and tho’

We are not now that strength which in old days

Moved earth and heaven; that which we are, we are;

One equal temper of heroic hearts,

Made weak by time and fate, but strong in will

To strive, to seek, to find, and not to yield.”

I think that Tennyson in this excerpt from Ulysses knew exactly how to describe my timeless friend Justin Tennison, and for that I am thankful.

Justin, Autumn, Branden, Myself

With a sad heart; but still striving, seeking, finding and not yielding…miss you, Friend.

Winnie

~ by winnieswineworld on February 22, 2011.

11 Responses to “Farewell Justin Tennison, Serendipity Courtesy of Tennyson”

  1. Can you please tell me how he died. Was he ill?

  2. […] friend Justin Tennison, winnieswineworld.wordpress.com […]

  3. RIP.

  4. Tough loss. The world falls short of greatness when such good souls and kind hearts leave us too early. Hold the memories of good times close to your heart, and smile at them. I’m sure it would be his wish for you.

    Stay strong, Winnie.

    Chris

  5. […] Justin, Autumn, Branden winnieswineworld.wordpress.com […]

  6. […] Justin, Autumn, Branden winnieswineworld.wordpress.com […]

  7. We are fans of the “Deadly Catch” shows and we are sadden by Justin’s passing, he will be miss..We are sorry for his family’s loss as no words or action can ease the pain, May Justin be watching over your family and Rest In Peace Justin..

  8. I am so sorry for your loss I pray for all of Justins loved ones in there time of need . I hope that time will heal your wounds . You will always have memorys but never a chance to make new ones and I truely feel sorry for you’re loss and will pray for all of his loved ones .

  9. I disagree with Katrina about new memories not being made, for Justin’s children carry on his memories and make new one4s with him in mind everyday. Justin’s legacy will carry on through his children and they will carry his name with pride and compassion for how delicate life is. I hope the family all the best and my prayers are with them although I know that Justin is watching over them with pride and will always be there for them when they need him the most.

Leave a Reply

 
