Wine Review – Snake River Winery 2009 Arena Valley Vineyard Orange Muscat

Dear world,

I am going on a low carb kick this week to tackle the end of winter doughy face I’ve been sporting the last few months. Spring begins in just a few moments (it is 6:56 pm on Sunday March 20th as I type) so it is time to get bikini ready.

In my quest for the whrockin’ summer bikini body, I’ve decided to give up my ultimate carb weakness: BEER. As an alternative to my staple beverage, I decided to go for a bottle of wine on a Sunday evening that would complement my cheese plate and home-made soup.

Out of the cellar came the Snake River Winery 2009 Arena Valley Vineyard Orange Muscat, Snake River Valley, Idaho. I judged this wine single blind at the Idaho Wine Competition last year.

Orange Muscat, Snake River Valley

Here are my current tasting notes:

The wine’s appearance is pale straw. Aromas of Mandarin orange peel and spice. Flavors of opulent oranges, lingering spice and a hint of cinnamon on the finish.

This is a vibrant wine that has brightened up my day and saved me from my beer withdrawals.

I do my best to save all my wine judging notes, so here were my notes from the Idaho Wine Competition staged in the fall of 2010:

“Orange, spice aromas. Rich on the palate. Finish medium plus, pleasant sipper.” G-

At the Idaho Wine Competition I scored this wine as a Gold-; it received a Gold from the competition and retails for $15. Check out Idaho wines here!

Tootles,

Winnie

© Winnie’s Wine World, 2011.

~ by winnieswineworld on March 21, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
