Things To Do In Seattle During CatchCon 2011

Dear world,

April 9th is CatchCon 2011. If you don’t know what that means all I can say is avoid Pier 66 and Alaskan Way at all costs on Saturday!

A host of fans touch down in Seattle from other parts of the country (and in some cases other parts of the world) to catch a glimpse of the captains and crews and boats featured on Discovery Channel’s wildly popular television series, Deadliest Catch. I attended the event last year and had a blast seeing old friends and making many new friends!

Captain Keith and the CatchCon-ettes!

Photo credit Deadliest Reports.

Whether you arrive by car, bus, air or magic carpet matters not! Seattle is a relatively easy place to navigate and there are great places to explore in every area of town. I won’t dwell on the history and rich culture of Seattle, I’m going to tell you where to eat, play and sip while you are here!

Here are some of my favorite haunts and things to do while in Seattle:

You must go to Pike Place Market, but not for reasons you will see on other travel guides or sites. This is why I go…

Have lunch at the Pink Door. They have a fun wine list and their salads, paninis and risotto are tops. The price is right, the staff is friendly and the atmosphere is cozy.

Walk past the dudes at City Fish and check out Pure Food Fish Market. I just bought 40 pounds of exceptional King Crab legs from them last week.

Zig Zag is a no bullshit kind of bar along the Pike Street Hill Climb and I have had some of the best cocktails in my life over a conversation with my best friend and my buddy, Dutch, from the US House of Representatives and the other side of the aisle (the fabulous drinks made him and his CIA entourage tolerable).

Check out Kells Irish Restaurant and Pub for your pre-dinner drink spot. Monte Colburn has been known to show up there and get his drink on! They also host a traditional Irish breakfast on Sundays starting at 11am; a great way to work off your post CatchCon 2011 hangover! Order a Pimm’s and thank me later!

If sushi is your thing try Nijo Sushi which has a great happy hour! They are located on Spring Street and Post Alley.

And, while you’re at the Market get yourself a big bunch of fresh flowers. Guys: you will look romantic carrying them and Ladies: you will glow with your bouquet and no one has to know you bought them yourself to put in your hotel room to gaze upon. I do it all the time!

If the Market and all those crazy tourists taking photo after photo (no, I’m not talking about you…necessarily) trek one block up to First avenue and discover Le Pichet, which is a great French style bistro. Le Déjeuner is my favorite with a glass of Champagne and the “Œufs Plats, Jambon et Fromag” with Gruyère cheese is my go to choice for mid-day.

If you are in the mood to have some corned beef and cabbage and a great pint go to Fado. It is also on First avenue but a few blocks south from the Market.

Hmmm, I think I’m pretty heavy on the Irish Pub category. There are either too many Irishmen in Seattle opening bars or I definitely have a style of joint I like to hang out at. No comment.

If you are here for CatchCon 2011, you must also go to Ballard. It is where many of our favorite guys hang out! Some even park their boats in the vicinity and there are some great eats, drinks and even a winery I posted about a while back! Ballard is much more than just fisherman and elderly people!

You should pop in and eat some tapas at Ocho! You must also grab an adult beverage at the Ballard Smoke Shop. There are a few other places I love to go but I’m not willing to share all my Seattle secrets with you crazy strangers ;).

The Hiram M. Chittenden Locks (Ballard Locks) are fun for all ages and there are always boats going to and fro. I prefer to sit on the deck at Ray’s Boathouse with a bucket of clams and a glass of Sauvignon Blanc and watch the boats go by from there.

Down the road from Ballard is Fremont. A fun attraction is the Fremont Troll. Everyone knows where the troll is so don’t be afraid to ask! There are also many great places to eat and drink in Fremont; walk around and you’re bound to find something to your liking. George and the Dragon and the High Dive are right up my alley.

I’m guessing many of you will be staying near Seattle Center since there are many hotels in the area and it is a great place to soak up Seattle. My all time favorite is the Experience Music Project/Science Fiction Museum or EMP|SFM. There are some great exhibitions going on right now (Battlestar Galactica) and the Gehry designed museum is definitely a one of a kind experience!

A few blocks west of the Seattle Center is an area called Queen Anne. This is another must experience area of Seattle. I like to eat at Toulouse Petit and the neighboring restaurant Peso’s. After the 5K I ran last week, I went to Toulouse Petit and had the ham and Gruyère scramble and a Bloody Mary or two. Great food and service!

You can’t say you’ve experienced Seattle if you haven’t had Dick’s. I prefer the Deluxe, Fries and a Chocolate Milkshake and their outpost on Queen Anne is easily accessible and everything tastes great. I buy Dick’s Deluxe burgers in bulk to take home to freeze and feed my kids. Be forewarned, Dick’s is a no substitution kind of place so don’t bother asking for no sauce or extra ketchup or a veggie burger instead of beef. As my six-year-old would say to me, “you get what you get and you don’t throw a fit.” If you want your food tailor-made go to Starbuck’s across the street and quit whining.

South of downtown in SODO are a few notable places to eat and sip. Urban Enoteca is a new wine bar pouring some of Washington’s finest wineries. If you’re more into beers than wine try Elysian Brewing instead of Pyramid Alehouse. The SODO Showbox has good shows if you’re into music.

Want to know my plan before CatchCon 2011? I will wake up early enough to get a good run in along the waterfront. Go back to my hotel to change…I am so clueless as to what to wear for an outfit. Then, I will most likely land on a bar stool at the Cyclops in Belltown for a PBR on tap and one of their magnificent breakfast items and then I’ll walk down the hill and wave to the nice ladies at Wax On Salon, all the way to the Edgewater Hotel (Cyclops is two blocks up on Wall) and head into the Six Seven Lounge to meet up with friends before braving the masses at CatchCon!

This was THE only photo I took in 2010...I will work on doing a better job this year.

As a note to all, please feel free to comment and post places you like to see, sip and mange at in Seattle! I skipped the obvious places like Wild Ginger, Metropolitan Grill and Waterfront Seafood Grill in hopes of finding you great places for food and drinks without breaking the bank!

See you there!

Tootles,

Winnie

© Winnie’s Wine World, 2011.

~ by winnieswineworld on March 24, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
