Chateau Ste. Michelle’s 2003 Ethos Syrah

Dear world,

I found a gem in my wine cellar by chance last night. The wine was the 2005 Washington State Wine Competition’s Best Red and Best in Show as I recall. I didn’t realize any bottles were still in my cellar and nearly got giddy (ok, I was guilty of getting giddy over this wine!) when I saw the Ethos tissue paper wrapped lovingly around a bottle hidden randomly on the wrong shelf!

ETHOS – Chateau Ste. Michelle 2003 Columbia Valley Syrah

2003 ETHOS Syrah

Here are my tasting notes:

Appearance – brilliant ruby-red, just a touch of fading at the rim.

Aromas – black cherry and raspberry with inviting leather and spicy black pepper aromas.

Flavors – ripe black fruits still present, a pleasant hint of barnyard, well-integrated chalky tannins, moderately peppery finish.

Finish/Impressions – I am pleased the fruit holds up so well, given that this is a 2003 Washington Syrah. I probably wouldn’t have purposefully cellared this wine as long as this – for fear that I would have missed its peak and been disappointed with the downhill slide. All the components are still harmonious and it tastes fantastic. I think this will age at least another 2-3 years.

Happy Halloween everyone!

Tootles!

Winnie

~ by winnieswineworld on October 31, 2011.

2 Responses to “Chateau Ste. Michelle’s 2003 Ethos Syrah”

  1. I have 2 bottles of this in my cellar, sitting, waiting for that sip. I’ll let them sit another year or so.

Leave a Reply

 
