I Still Want the Same Things for Christmas This Year…

Dear world,

This is a post from waaaaay back in 2010, but I find myself still wanting these amazing wine gifts…you will too. I made a few additions to my list, take a peek and tell me what you think!

I’ve decided to post a list of my Top 10 Great Gifts for Wine Lovers (or Posers) who may be on your Christmas list this year. Given the awesomeness of what’s included below I hope I’m also on your list – I promise I’ve been good all year!

In no particular order…

Corkscrew.

Everyone needs a durable corkscrew, unless your friends only drink wine out of a box. If that’s the case, your New Year’s Resolution should be to “acquire new friends”! Forget the Rabbit, buy me one of those for Valentine’s Day! I prefer a traditional Waiter’s Corkscrew and Pulltap’s Double Hinged Waiter’s Corkscrew is the only corkscrew you’ll ever need to buy.

Glassware/Decanters.

Riedel is my go-to brand for everyday and for special occasion glassware. EVERYONE, from the novice to the experienced wine drinker, should also own a decanter. They also happen to make a wine look extraordinary and Riedel glassware is everywhere – from wine shops to Costco.

Here’s an idea – do you have someone on your list who loves Oregon Pinot Noir? Give them a bottle of Oregon Pinot Noir with a set of Riedel’s Oregon Pinot Noir glasses.

Wine Accessories.

For those on your list who have been naughty this year, why not gift this? Who knew @pipedreamtoys also stocked wine accessories? This is a bangin’ way to show off a great bottle of wine!

Have you been naughty or nice?

Wine Magazine Subscriptions.

Why not gift a subscription to a magazine?  Many offer two for one subscriptions, so you can give and receive!

Wine Press Northwest learn everything there is to know about food and wine in the Northwest.

Food and Wine is heavy on the food content but I love the way they have a page in the beginning of each issue detailing every wine in the magazine and break it down by style and note whether it is a bargain, hard-to-find or a staff favorite wine.

Wine Spectator is a large magazine best suited for a coffee table but filled with great articles about wine.

Wine Enthusiast has done a re-vamp and seems to be geared more towards a younger wine crowd with lots of small tidbit articles about people and places in the wine world.

Wine Advocate is more of a publication for those obsessed with collecting scores and PARKER Points.

Hey – Smell This! Wine Aroma Kit.

Buy the Le Nez Du Vin Wine Aromas Kit if you have a friend who is serious about wines and wine tasting. I am a professional wine judge and believe this kit is essential for palate training. It is also required course material for many professional enology programs.

Read About Wine.

Lettie Teague’s Educating Peter has been a gift I’ve truly enjoyed giving to friends who want to learn more about wine. It is perfect for friends who may be younger or easily distracted by a ‘dry’ wine book (no pun intended) because “Peter” is Peter Travers, the movie critic for Rolling Stone magazine and a hilarious pupil.

Wine Press Northwest’s Andy Perdue published The Northwest Wine Guide: A Buyer’s Guide which is a great pocket book to have with you when you are on a Northwest wine adventure.

The recently released second edition of Paul Gregutt’s Washington Wines and Wineries is a great tool for those who are interested in Washington wines and growing regions or for those who have yet to discover this world-class wine region.

Vintage Wine by Michael Broadbent, MW is a fantastic reference with over 6,000 wines from the last few centuries including carefully detailed vintage and wine notes. Great for collectors and serious wine drinkers.

A Year in Provence by Peter Mayle will have you booking a one-way ticket to the South of France!

Wine Event Tickets – 2012.

Taste Washington Seattle is coming up in March 2012 and is the premiere Washington wine and restaurant event! It will be a TWO DAY EXTRAVAGANZA! March 31 and April 1, 2012!

Many restaurants offer winemaker dinners which are a great way to treat a friend while tasting a new or beloved winery and enjoying a great meal.

Why So Serious? and Some Not So Serious Wine Movies.

You can grab a bottle and get ready to laugh at Sideways, explore the globalization of wine as chronicled in Mondovino or enjoy the lighthearted story of life in Provence and soak up the easy on the eyes Marion Cotillard in the Peter Mayle adapted flick,  A Good Year.

Travel and Experience Wine.

In 2012 Allen Shoup is bringing his star winemakers to the high seas on a Long Shadows Vintners tour. If you enjoy wines from Dunn Vineyards, Quintessa, Penfold’s Grange, Hundred Acre and if you love world-class wines, then you should be drinking Long Shadows wine. When you take part in this cruise you will rub shoulders with THE Michel Rolland, soak up the sun next to Howell Mountain cowboy Randy Dunn, share stories with Armin Diel, get a taste of Italian left-cheek-first greetings with Giovanni Folinari…wow, I’m booking right now!

Everyone should also visit Walla Walla, Washington; a mecca for reputation wineries and vineyards. Stay at the elegant Marcus Whitman Hotel and hire a tour bus to schlep you and your friends around to some of the best wineries in the United States. There is even an easily accessed airport in Walla Walla and plenty of great places to eat including my favorite, Saffron.

Book a long weekend in Idaho, NapaSonomaWoodinvilleLong Island…you get the point. I’ve included the links to each region’s wine association which will offer a myriad of information and additional tips of what’s available in the area, when to visit and suggested wine itineraries.

If you want to put a big wine vacation in someone’s stocking (mine, please), I would suggest Chile and Argentina. I spent time down there during the 2009 harvest and was impressed by the caliber of wines and enamored with the breathtaking culture and people. If you want to take me or need help planning your itinerary, just let me know! I have developed itineraries for some friends who have traveled there and I know the best translator!

Wine.

Or, you could just go with the obvious and purchase someone a bottle, magnum, 6-pack or case of wine from a winery, wine shop or other specialty store.

Happy shopping, cheers and Merry Christmas to you all!

Tootles,

Winnie

DISCLAIMER:

Please note that the items I’ve suggested are not paid endorsements, unless otherwise noted. I was blessed last Christmas season to receive Pipe Dream‘s Sexy Wine Holder gratis and I love every minute of my time with “him”.

I use Wine Enthusiast‘s retail web site for many items because they are a trusted seller with fair prices. I use Barnes and Noble for books and DVD’s because I do not like certain retailers whose name begins with the first letter of the alphabet (it’s a personal preference).

I do hope that if you work for or are affiliated with any of the companies or products I suggest in this blog, that you drop me a line and send me a ‘ho ho ho’…and/or give me some free stuff in return for HELPING YOU TO HELP YOU :).


~ by winnieswineworld on December 12, 2011.

Leave a comment